Section 8 HOP - Housing Opportunities of Southwest Washington

Go to content

Main menu:

Section 8 HOP

Housing Assistance

Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8)
Home Ownership Program 

Housing Opportunities of SW Washington (HOSWWA) permits eligible participants in the Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher (HCV) program, the option of purchasing a home with their Section 8 assistance rather than renting.

HCV participants may receive Section 8 Home Ownership assistance for up to 15 years on a 20 year or longer mortgage and 10 years for mortgages less than 20 years.

In addition to Section 8 Homeownership assistance, families may qualify for other funding opportunities that help with down-payment assistance, closing costs and lower interest rates.

For more information, contact:

Lori Parsons
(360) 423-0140 extension 33
HOSWWA Homeownership Program is only available in the following communities in Southwest Washington State:

Cowlitz County (includes Longview, Washington and unincorporated Cowlitz County, excluding Kelso and Kalama.  Cowlitz County is south of Lewis County and North of Clark County)
Pacific County (includes Raymond, South Bend, Long Beach, Ilwaco.  Pacific County is west of Lewis County and south of Grays Harbor County)
Lewis County (includes Chehalis, Centralia, Morton, Winlock and Toledo.  Lewis County is south of Thurston County and north of Cowlitz County)
Wahkiakum County (includes Cathlamet and Skamokawa.  Wahkiakum County is south of Pacific County and west of Cowlitz County)

Eligibility Requirements.   Participation in the Section 8 Home-ownership Program is voluntary.  In addition to being an HCV (Section 8) participant in good standanding, each participant must meet the following eligibility requirements: 

  1. Participate in the Section 8 Advantage (formerly FSS) Program.  Homeowners are required to participate in HOSWWA’s Section 8 Advantage (S8A) program or be former graduates of the program. 
  2. First-time Homeowner.  A "first-time homeowner" means that no member of the household has had an ownership interest in any residence during the three years preceding commencement of home ownership assistance. However, a single parent or displaced homemaker who, while married, owned a home with a spouse (or resided in a home owned by a spouse) is considered a “first-time homeowner”. 
  3. Employment History. The home owner (head of household) must be employed full-time (an average of 30 hours per week) and have been so continuously employed for one year prior to execution of the sales agreement. 
  4. Minimum Income Requirement. The family Income must be equal to or over the Federal minimum hourly wage ($7.25) multiplied by 2000 hours. ($14,500). 
  5. Section 8 Participant in Good Standing. Section 8 families must have participated in the Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher program for one year and not owe money to HOSWWA or any other housing authority.  
  6. Down Payment. At a minimum, the participant will be required to provide three percent of the home purchase price as a down payment and at least one percent of the purchase price must come from the family’s personal resources, (i.e. savings, IDA account or S8A Savings)..

Program Advantages.  When you become a participant in the Section 8 Homeownership Program, you can expect:

  • Increased buying power to purchase a home.

  • Continued participation in the S8A Program.

  • Continue growing your S8A savings account (for S8A participants) that can be accessed for down payments, home repairs and improvements.

  • Comprehensive homeownership counseling and assistance that helps you with budgeting, financing, and buying a home from start to finish.

  • Referrals to pre-approved Lenders and Realtors.

Additional Requirements.  In addition to being a Section 8 participant in good standing, the family must also: 

  • be a first-time homeowner or include a family member who is a person with disabilities; 
  • with the exception of elderly and disabled households, meet a minimum income requirement without counting income from 'welfare assistance" sources; 
  • with the exception of elderly and disabled households, meet the requisite employment criteria; 
  • have completed an initial lease term in the Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8) program.

Back to content | Back to main menu